Cusp · family · fulfilment · God · joy · life · love · purpose · Uncategorized · Work

I Killed My Old Man

The Cross – My Cusp
Oh Yes, I did!

You ask me why?

There was no other choice. It was either he dies or I die. He was a slave, quick to anger and didn’t have a future. He was physically strong for sure, but I needed more than that; I needed supernatural strength. He was prone to diseases, failure, hurts, destruction and ultimately death. I had to end his life before he dragged me to eternal death with him.

the-old-man-is-dead

Photo Courtesy of https://mudpreacher.org/tag/crucified/

You ask me how I did it?

My Brother helped me out. We hang my old man on a tree. Yes, we crucified him! It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it. The Cross became my Cusp – the dividing line between my old man and I.

Romans 6:6 Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.

I began to live the day my old man died. WheColossians+3v3+by+Alyssa+Reevesn he was alive, I was decaying since I had a sinful nature. Then my Brother came and showed me the filth in my old man. He made a way for me by being The Way, The Truth and The Life! He introduced me to Father. He gave me a new body; one that can accommodate Dad in it; How cool is that! Can you imagine He sent the Holy Spirit to guide and protect me on a real-time basis. What more could I ask for. He’s the greatest Resource you could ever have.

You ask me whether I regret it? 

Not at all! He was the reason for all my problems. He was full of generational curses and sin. He was born into this world through Adam’s lineage: certified failure. When I was informed that I have to be born again, I knew for sure that he was too big to go back into mom’s womb, thus had to die.

You ask me what I gained from killing him?

New CreatureEternal Life! I was born into a new family. I became a new creature; totally transformed. This was instant in my spirit, a continuous process in my soul and will be perfected when this body eventually returns to dust. This is the sweetest journey I have had to take; one of knowing my new identity each day; one with assured victory; one with my Father in me and I in Him. He holds me up that I may not hit my foot on a stone. He leads me in the way I should follow. He is teaching me how to be like Him; ever Loving, never-failing. He sent His only Son to take my place on the cross (the Brother I told you about earlier; the one who helped me kill my old man). He did it all for me, that I might live.

Dying to selfMy old man did not want to die. This is the reason why there’s war in my head at times. What should I therefore do? I must take up my cross daily. everyday comes with its trials, problems, sicknesses, temptations, persecutions and so on. To hell with all these (actually that’s where all these belong). I have to consciously remember who I am and why I am still here. It is my responsibility to unlearn the things taught to me by my old man. I have the answers to all life’s issues in the Word and the Word dwells in me through the Holy Spirit. He came and made my heart His home. He became everything I am and all I know. Oh what a joy! Without Him I am nothing. In Him I live, in Him I move, in Him I have my being!

So what exactly am I saying?

My old man died. My new man was born. I can’t keep silent. It is the best thing that ever happened to me. My new man cannot die. He is hid in Christ Jesus. He who is in me is greater than he who’s in the world (1 John 4:4). He will never leave me nor forsake me. He holds my future by knowing my expected end (Jeremiah 29:11).

Now here’s the Good News!

What He has done is not for me alone. He did it for you and I. I’d be selfish to go on this eternal vacation on my own; walking on the streets of gold, owning an immortal body, a place with no sorrow, no sicknesses, no death, and so on. Guess what! He already made a reservation for you and went ahead and paid the full price. What are you waiting for? Raise your tree! Kill your old man! If you already have, take a seat next to me (follow me, like and share this post) as we journey the world-wide web with the intention of making him known in all corners of the earth. Isn’t this the reason we’re still here? to show the world His goodness that He may draw them to Himself?Draw men to Himself

Lift Him Up!

His Name Be Lifted Higher

Lift Him Up!

exalt His Holy Name!

(Lyrics of A Song By Ron Kenoly)

5 thoughts on “I Killed My Old Man

Leave a Reply

