family · fulfilment · happiness · joy · life · love · purpose · religion

One Dream Giver-God of Second Chances

One thing’s for sure, a fresh start ain’t as easy as it sounds. I’m talking of beginning all over again. Be it a relationship, or a business, a life skill or a course, something you had mastered to the point of performing it with your eyes closed. The story of my life. I must say there are two ways to look at it. Either sit back and count your losses or rise up, dust yourself and find a way of getting back on the saddle. I definitely went for the latter. I repeat: it wasn’t easy.

The good thing about starting over is having a chance to better the closed chapter. If it involves a spouse, you appreciate him/her more, learning from the one who is no more. If it’s to do with business, you become wiser in picking your partners, saving the seed, re injecting the capital, signing contracts for safety reasons and so on.

a-second-chance2

God is serious when He says He knows your expected end. He is also serious when He says you shall eat the good of the land. God is serious when He says the works of your hands are blessed. No doubt, He was very serious when He made Himself your Paraclete. Most of all, He is the Author of second chances, proving this by taking your place on the cross so that you could live again! I’m forever grateful!

Surround yourself with visionaries. Completely disconnect yourself from those who made you fail, those who brought you down and those who don’t believe in you. You have no apologies to make to them. Care to dream. Manage the consequences of your past failures bravely and maturely. Learn from them and move on. Spend time with your loved ones. Go out of your way for a friend. Join a support group if you have to. Run for your life, if you can’t walk for a cause. If both are not possible, Keep Calm and Ogelea (@ogeleaafrica) – meaning, ‘Relax and take a swim’.

I’m not refuting the fact that sometimes I can be sad and blue when I remember the time invested in a relationship that went to the dogs, cash that I toiled for and lost to a swindler, career that was cut short for one reason or the other and even a relationship with God that was not nurtured to fruitfulness. All these feelings come but I have chosen not to have a pity party. Instead I have chosen to thank God that my second chance came in my youthful years; I have learnt to be slow but sure, thinker before leaper, and before I forget I have also learnt a lesson: not to judge people because it is neither my job description nor my business. On the contrary, I choose to use the same comfort I have received from my Father to comfort those going through a similar path as mine. ‘Hii maisha ni kusaidiana’ (you’re alive for the purpose of giving a helping hand).

There’s so much to live for, so much to celebrate, so much to party about, so much to be thankful for. Embrace the second chance you’ve got and make The Giver proud!

Jeff Bates – One Second Chance

Leave a Reply

