Uncategorized

Room 314

I began the journey at around 6 a.m. The traffic to town wasn’t too bad. The plan was to be in town by 9 a.m. so as to catch a shuttle to Nakuru. This, unlike other days, was a day full of many travels. Instead of working from our head office here in Nairobi, I was headed for spot checks cum meet – the branch colleagues. My itinerary wasn’t quite clear but all I knew is that I was to do a round trip in two days.

Day one began well. Got to the first branch before noon. A good start it was, learning their operations and sharing ideas on the way forward. The story was the same in the other branches (which were in different counties thus I spent a lot of time on the road). Evening came and I sought for a place to lay my head. I ended up in this dingy guest house, all in the name of promoting a friend. My room was called simba though no part of it lived to its name. All in all, I managed to rest.

Day two was tiring! The plan kept changing, causing some level of frustration. The idea was to clear the day’s assignment and return home. All this time my head was only thinking of work yet I had left my baby at home with a one week old nanny. I didn’t have time to panic cause duty called. The task at hand was accomplished successfully but time was not on my side. It was obvious that this was another night in a guest house.

My colleagues and I converged in Nakuru town and that is where they introduced me to Room 314! It was just a few minutes to midnight. Before paying for the service, I was asked to go upstairs, meet her and decide whether she was worth my sleep. It was love at first sight.

20151009_231638I must admit that her covers are much better than those I own right now. Look at her net….it’s so welcoming!

She managed to switch me from business trip to vacation mode. I don’t remember how long I was in the shower. All I remember is the volume of water coming from my eyes. The drainage couldn’t differentiate between the two. Both waters were warm; both waters were full of dirt since they were from cleansing; one within and one without. By the time my body was clean, my heart was open.

Room 314 was about to meet the real ANNEOBURE.

There was nothing to fear anymore. We were all alone. These walls, like all others, had ears. The only difference is they echoed back what I said only to me and gave me the guts to know that my secrets were safe with her. It hit me that I had never taken a holiday since I got hitched. Life became so busy, the one I thought would care about me became even busier. It was always about work, work, work. With little breaks of baby, baby, baby (no regrets).

One Day At A Time

(I’m adding this on the 18th of April, 2017: God has just opened my eyes and made me notice that Room 314 Resembles Rom 3:14, which says, ‘Whose mouth was full of cursing and bitterness!’ That was exactly who I was when originally writing this post.)

My mind drifted back to a time when I was just Anne Obure. I allowed myself to remember how it was. This was the transitional period between being Gordon and Jeddy’s little girl, to becoming someone’s companion. I remember treating myself, going out with my friends, doing mission work, loving on God in all possible ways. I don’t know when Anne Obure disappeared, but trust me I know for sure where she disappeared to. That’s the only reason she’s back! Bigger and Better! (literally…hahaha). Though beaten, not bitter. Cast down but not destroyed. In fact there’s a part of me that gets excited when I think of the past four years of pain. I’m yet to understand why.

20151010_081904This is where I found her; in Rm 314. Just as the net welcomed me the night before in the dark, likewise, the sun came through the window in the morning, caressing my back, drying the drenched sheets and telling me, “Gal, go out there and make it count once more!”

I must admit that despite the pain I have gone through (still going through), This one night event helped me realize that I’ve got to remain strong. It began as a hectic business trip and ended as a prescribed rest period that I thoroughly needed. Watch this space for Nyeri trip which is a week away!

I cannot end this post without introducing you guys to Rm 314. This is where she dwells: http://www.jovago.com/en-gb/kenya/o14010/leopard-view-hotel-nakuru

When in town, give her a visit. You will not regret. I trust her not to share my secrets with you. We share something more. I being 31, Rm 314 kinda sounds like the room for me. 31 for(4): For those who are 31. But worry not, she dwells with others: 001 – 313 and beyond! Calculate your age and take your pick. Who knows what her sisters have in store for you. A big thank you to the staff at Leopard View Hotel. The service was excellent! The meals were delicious too!

For now, meet the Guy who keeps me going; The One who’ll never let me go; Listen to His biography; He sticks really close…. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=813-VofXK2Q

6 thoughts on “Room 314

Leave a Reply

