Uncategorized

September The 24th

 

This is a day I will remember…..even in eternity. (Oops! There’s neither space nor time in this dispensation). Anyway, it is the best day of my life in many ways. First and foremost, this is the day my loving mom and dad held me in their arms for the very first time. What a joy it must have been; to behold their second daughter. Finally a playmate for their naughty first (who happens to be not only a sister and a friend, but also my maid of honor). Due to lack of memory for this particular day, for obvious biological reasons, my description ends here.

This is the day I said ‘I Do’, twenty seven years later. I must admit that there was some sort of happiness. Could it have been due to this being the beginning of a new journey, thus anticipation of a better tomorrow (not to mean that the yester was a bummer…. single-hood was a ball!). Or maybe just as the Bible says, ‘Two are better than one’, that was reason enough to celebrate. Well, I didn’t get a chance to dance kanungo with all my relatives and friends (story for another day), but all in all, it was a success. Thanks be to God for such a chance. Many have but dreamt to have that ring in their finger, others have even gone ahead and worn meaningless ones for one reason or the other…. nothing against rings in general, but for this particular one on my finger……story for another day.

This is the day my one and only baby boy, Yuyu, took his first spoon of food after exclusively breastfeeding for six months. Many thanks to the moms on ‘Breastfeeding Support For Kenyan Moms’ as well as those on ‘My Newborn And Beyond’ as we prodded together towards the silver award mark. If ever there was something in life I am proud of, it is the selflessness lessons that I received during this period, when you have this little thing that’s totally dependent on you. Now you understand my relief when finally the weaning process began. Greater things have followed.

This is the day I finally held the keys to a car I called my own, exactly three years after getting hitched. All the jaluo in me came out. Lights, camera, action! My family and friends were informed of it seconds after I received it (or was it seconds before? Hahaha). Indeed I turned thirty in style, or so I thought. I felt loved, blessed, thought of, to mention the least. Just like the ring, this car is also a story for another day.

This is today! A day of new beginnings; a day of celebration; a day of remembrance; another year added to my life; a day of clarity regarding my pending issue. Yes! A day of confirming my existence as well as negating some decisions made in the past. Thank God it is a day that He has made, for us to rejoice and be glad. Mom I return to you: to thank you, to celebrate with you, to laugh/cry with you, to be your baby again. Happy Birthday Anne Obure!
Oh! It just got better! Mom says she had just turned twenty four when she had me…. wow! The doing of our Lord!

One thought on “September The 24th

Leave a Reply

